Lifting of the federal ban on marijuana has opened up numerous opportunities for weed enthusiasts. While most former marijuana convicts still battle their fate in court, aspiring growers have already invested in the controversial plant. However, most of the public are still in the dark about marijuana laws in their states. This guide presents all the information you need to know about the growth of marijuana.
The push for marijuana growth has been arguably highest in California, with the public, medics, and politicians taking part in the struggle. Finally, in January 2018, these dreams came into reality when the state approved marijuana growth for recreational use. However, you are restricted to grow on six plants but only in a place not exposed to the public. Only with a medical recommendation can you be allowed to grow greater quantities. Additionally, you must be aged at least 21 to grow the potent plant. The law further restricts the maximum possession to 28.5 grams of usable marijuana.
If you are a resident of Nevada and aged 21 and above then you can grow marijuana. However, you will be on the wrong side of the law if found in possession of more than one ounce of the drug. The lawmakers equate this to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrate. The law is even stricter if you live within 25 miles of a cannabis retailer as you can only grow six plants. If living further than 25 miles, your homestead can grow up to 12 marijuana plants.
Marijuana lovers in Maine enjoy some of the most flexible laws compared to other states. As long as you are an adult or qualifying patient aged 21 and above, you can freely grow six marijuana plants. Additionally, you can grow up to 12 plants as long as they are not mature. More interestingly, municipalities have the freedom to expand the limit to 18 plants as long as they are for personal use. Designated caregivers and dispensaries can also grow the plant as long as it is aimed for qualifying patients.
Marijuana legislation in the Bay State does not differ much from that of other states, with the age limit for growth remaining 21. Massachusetts can also grow 6 mature plants or 12 if they are immature, with caregivers having then an exception to keep a steady flow for 60 days. It is also legal in Massachusetts to have 1 ounce of marijuana in public and up to 10 ounces at home.
In Arizona, medics recommend the use of marijuana to qualifying patients. A caregiver with the ADHS certification also qualifies to possess up to 2.5 ounces of the drug but for only 14 days. Both Qualifying patients and caregivers may grow up to 12 cannabis plants provided they do not live within 25 miles of a Marijuana retailer. That said, it is illegal to use recreational marijuana in the state.
Despite its tiny size, Rhode Island reported a higher percentage of cannabis users than any other state in 2015. The high numbers do not, however, mean pot has been legalized in the state. An attempt to legalize marijuana in Rhode Island failed, forcing the majority of enthusiasts to seek other satisfaction means. Politicians are still pushing for a lift of the restrictive laws today.
With the high numbers of drug convictions in New York, it would seem appropriate if recreational cannabis was legalized. Legislators and other pro-marijuana groups have pushed for this reform but it still remains unimplemented. |In what seems to be a green light to the legislation, New York has legalized four growers to satisfy the need of the millions. As of today, growth of the potent plant is still a reserve for the four growers.
Pot enthusiasts in Connecticut are currently in limbo with the cultivation of the wonder plant remaining illegal. The state is clear on who could legally handle the drug, and these are none other than qualifying patients and their caregivers. This is nothing to be happy about yet, as there are limits to the amounts each can possess. A patient and caregiver can only stock as much marijuana as is suitable to guarantee uninterrupted supply with a reasonable use for not more than a month.
What is the experience of home-growing cannabis in the Sunshine State? Cannabis lovers have nothing to celebrate about as it is still illegal to grow marijuana in Florida. The only legal exception to the use of marijuana in the state is to have a marijuana therapy in place of the use of pharmaceuticals. The law is even stricter in Nebraska, Idaho, Kansas, and South Dakota where growth and use of pot are completely illegal. In 13 other states, some forms of marijuana can be used but its growth remains illegal.
The growth, possession, and use of marijuana remain one of the most controversial topics in the United States. In some jurisdictions, there is a total ban of the plant and its products while others permit partial use. For instance, 32 states including Washington, DC allow the use of marijuana in medical settings. Some other states permit home and caregiver growing although the terms differ significantly. With these disparities, it is prudent to establish marijuana policies for states you are visiting before you set foot on them. Also, consult with local authorities before growing the plant. Many enthusiasts have found themselves on the wrong side of the law, so watch out not to be a victim too.